Kinder sind toll – Children are awesome

While Salah is rounding up the other class members, I’m left on my own with four-year-old Malik. I prepare the class by placing my papers and colour pencils on the table. Malik grabs one, brandishes it in my face and calls out: “Blue”. Then he picks up all the colours he already knows: red, black, yellow, green. I help him out with pink and orange.

He wears a t-shirt with the picture of a bulldog. I point to it and ask what it is. He knows immediately what I want and barks at me. “Yes, it’s a dog,” I acknowledge his answer. He dashes to his bed, picks up a soft toy and tells me: “Dog.” Then he points to his t-shirt, waves the toy around and says: “Two dog’.”

Salah is back and offers to make tea while we are waiting for the others: “Tea, please?” The teacher in me can never shut up. I correct him: “Would you like some tea?”, he answers: “Yes.” and we laugh. Sipping from the hot cup I still can’t shut up. Time for some grammar:
“I drink tea. You drink tea. Malik drinks tea –“ “No,” Salah interrupts me, “Malik drinks apple.” Now Malik copies his uncle and corrects him: “Malik drinks apple JUICE.”

It’s commonplace knowledge that children learn languages fast, much faster than adults when given half a chance. But to experience it directly it is simply amazing. Malik has been going to nursery school for a couple of hours every day for a few weeks now. The group is made up of the children from the hotel, mostly Arab children, but also a couple from Balkan and African states. He might not have German children there (actually, I don’t know how the group is made up) but the only common language is German and of course, the teachers speak German to them. This is not much, all the more astounding astounding to see Malik’s progress.

The other day I read about a Syrian preschooler.  The teacher was happy when she saw that he became friends with a German boy, the two of them were soon inseparable.  “German won’t be a problem in this situation,” everybody thought when they saw how close the two boys were.  After three months they had to admit that the little Syrian boy did not speak much German, however, his German friend could speak quite passable Arabic.

Children are awesome.

Birmingham family
A Real Birmingham Family                                    2014 , a sculpture by Gillian Wearing

Während Salah die anderen Kursteilnehmer zusammentrommelt, bin ich mit dem vierjährigen Malik allein im Zimmer. Ich bereite meinen Unterricht vor, in dem ich meine Papiere und Buntstifte auf den Tisch lege. Sofort schnappt sich Malik einen Stift, hält ihn mir unter die Nase und sagt: „blau“. Danach sucht er alle an

deren Farben zusammen, die er schon kennt: rot, schwarz, gelb, grün. Ich helfe ihm weiter mit rosa und orange.

Auf seinem T-Shirt ist eine Bulldogge abgebildet. Ich deute darauf und frage, was das sei, er weiß sofort, was ich will und bellt mich an. „Ja“, bestätige ich ihn, „ein Hund!“ Er schießt los und schnappt sich eines seiner Plüschtiere vom Bett: „Hund!“ Dann deutet er auf sein T-Shirt und wedelt mit dem Stofftier herum: „Zwei Hund‘.“

Salah kommt zurück und überbrückt die Zeit, bis die anderen kommen, damit, mir Tee anzubieten: „Tee, bitte?“ Die Lehrerin in mir gibt nie Ruhe. „Möchtest du Tee?“ verbessere ich. Er sagt: „Ja!“ und wir lachen. Als ich dann den heißen Tee schlürfe, kann ich immer noch nicht ruhig sein. Zeit für eine Runde Grammatik: „Ich trinke Tee. Du trinkst Tee. Malik trinkt Tee -“ „Nein“, unterbricht mich Salah, „Malik trinkt kein‘ Tee. Malik trinkt Apfel.“ Da macht es Malik macht seinem Onkel nach und jetzt korrigiert er ihn: „Nein, Malik trinkt ApfelSAFT.“

Es ist eine Binsenweisheit, dass Kinder schnell Sprachen lernen, viel schneller als Erwachsene, wenn man sie nur lässt. Aber es so konkret zu sehen, ist erstaunlich. Malik geht seit ein paar Wochen zwei Stunden am Nachmittag in den Kindergarten.  Er hat vielleicht keine deutschen Spielkameraden dabei (ich weiß ehrlich gesagt nicht, wie sich die Gruppe zusammensetzt), aber die einzige gemeinsame Sprache ist Deutsch, und natürlich sprechen die Lehrer mit ihnen auf Deutsch. Das ist nicht viel, umso verblüffender ist es, Maliks Fortschritte zu sehen.

Neulich habe ich von einem syrischen Kindergartenkind gelesen.  Die Kindergärtnerin war froh, als er sich einem deutschen Jungen anschloss, die beiden waren bald unzertrennlich.  “Da klappt das mit dem Deutschlernen”, dachten sich alle Beteiligten, als sie sahen, wie die beiden die Köpfe zusammenstecken und tuschelten. Nach drei Monaten musste man feststellen, dass der kleine Syrier kaum Deutsch konnte, sein deutscher Freund aber recht passabel arabisch sprach.

Kinder sind toll.

3 thoughts on “Kinder sind toll – Children are awesome

  1. It´s called immersion. Children learn incredibly fast. I know a German boy who joined a British school with 7. The first three months were difficult and the teacher was worried because the boy didn´t speak and there was no way knowing what he understands. Then, after three months it was like turning a switch. He started speaking and participated in everything. Within three years you couldn’t tell the difference to a native speaker language wise.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yepp. 🙂 I know more than one example of this. It’s also why it English medium schools in Germany with a high percentage of German speaking children are not as successful as parents hope. And it is exactly where the language courses / integration courses for the (adult) refugees have a problem. Because they have little contact with Germans. I can already see a difference in those that have become part of a sports’ team and those who don’t.

      Like

Leave a Reply

