Shame on me – „Schäm mich!“

I had to go out for groceries tonight. I probably won’t manage tomorrow, however my favourite shop lies in the blocked-off area around the hall where this weekend’s national party convention of the rightwing national party will take place for the second time in a row (and the third time in our town).

So I went to a different store. In the veggie section I overheard a couple talking to a young woman. It was loud enough for me to pick up a few snippets of the conversation. “A lot of police”, “unbelievable”, and “one really should” was what I heard. A short glance sideways and I had a verdict: yeah right, an elderly married couple, both a bit shrivelled yet elegant, retired secondary school teachers to the tee, more examples of the “it’s about time somebody said it” faction.

I had to move closer because they were standing in front of the onions and that’s where I needed to go. I couldn’t help but hear a whole sentence, this time from the woman: “I’ve never been to a protest march in all my life but tomorrow – I’ll be there!”

Prejudices are never a good thing.

043 justitia

Heute Abend war ich noch schnell Lebensmittel einkaufen. Morgen werde ich kaum dazukommen, mein bevorzugter Laden liegt aber schon jetzt in der Sperrzone um die Versammlungshalle, wo am Wochenende zum zweiten Mal (und zum dritten Mal in unserer Stadt) der Bundesparteitag der NPD stattfinden wird.

Also war ich in einem anderen Supermarkt. In der Gemüseabteilung sah ich ein Paar, das sich mit einer jungen Frau unterhielt. Die Unterhaltung war laut genug, dass ich Wortfetzen aufschnappen konnte. „Viel Polizei“, „unglaublich“ und „da sollte man“ habe ich gehört. Ein kurzer Blick meinerseits und mein Urteil war fertig: ja klar, älteres Semester, beide etwas verschrumpelt, aber elegant, Marke: pensionierte Studienräte, noch so zwei „das wird man doch noch sagen dürfen“-Exemplare.

Ich musste dann nah an ihnen vorbei, weil sie vor den Zwiebeln standen und ich genau da hinwollte. Ich konnte nicht verhindern, einen ganzen Satz zu hören, diesmal von der Frau: „Ich war in meinem ganzen Leben noch nie auf einer Demo, aber Morgen – da geh ich hin!”

Vorurteile sind nie gut.

Leave a Reply

