Feuer unterm Arsch – A pitful of fire

Kamal, one of the Syrians who is relatively new in my class, didn’t show up this morning. When asked, the others told me that he was still sleeping. Since the class was busy with a writing exercise I left them alone and went to his room. After several knocks, he opened the door in his pyjamas and shrank back. I think I startled him. “It is now 10:40 am,” I told him. “We have started with school. Five minutes, okay?”

Three minutes later he sat in his chair.

I will probably go down in the hotel’s history as the teacher from hell.

Sinners

Kamal, einer der Syrer, der noch relativ neu in meiner Klasse ist, war heute Morgen nicht da. Die anderen sagten mir auf meine Nachfrage, dass er noch schlafen würde. Da die Klasse gerade mit einer Schreibübung beschäftigt war, ließ ich sie allein und ging zu seinem Zimmer. Nach einigem Klopfen machte er die Tür in seinem Schlafanzug auf und zuckte zurück. Ich glaube, ich habe ihn erschreckt. „Es ist jetzt 10.40 Uhr“, sagte ich ihm. “Wir haben mit dem Unterricht angefangen. Fünf Minuten, okay?!”

Drei Minuten später saß er auf seinem Platz.

Wahrscheinlich habe ich jetzt im Hotel den Ruf weg, die Lehrerin aus der Hölle zu sein.

 

One thought on “Feuer unterm Arsch – A pitful of fire

Leave a Reply

