Wer will fleißige Staubsauger sehen? – The vacuum cleaner goes burr, burr, burr

Once again the classroom – the bigger one of two common rooms in the hotel – looks a bit under the weather. Paper shreds and tinsel lying around, a few crumbs in the corner. Nothing really major, but not nice and neat. I had planned a quick clean through with my students after the class, but the vacuum cleaner is in use in the playroom just when I need it and so I shelve the idea until tomorrow. Also, the teacher who uses the room after us has arrived already and I don’t want to steal her time.

The vacuum cleaner is humming next door. “Somebody is actually using the vacuum cleaner around here!” The other teacher is looks primly around. I immediately think the criticism is directed at me and I apologise. “No, it wasn’t you made the mess,” she placates me. “But it wasn’t me, either. So I won’t clean it up!”

Mhm, yes. And that’s exactly the attitude why the living quarters are getting filthier. The individual rooms which I have been privileged to visit are clean, sometimes untidy because they are cramped, but clean. The kitchens are clean, apparently everybody clears their own mess after cooking. But the communal areas, e.g. the entrance area or the staircase, look pretty scruffy. The children, the visitors, the inhabitants – nobody leaves a lot of dirt. But it accumulates. And nobody feels responsible.

069 vacuum

Das Klassenzimmer – der größere von zwei Gemeinschaftsräumen im Hotel – sieht mal wieder etwas mitgenommen aus. Papierschnipsel und Lamettafäden am Boden, ein paar Krümel in der Ecke. Nichts Weltbewegendes, aber schön ist anders. Eigentlich wollte ich nach der Klasse mit meinen Schülern ein Kurzputzen veranstalten, aber der Staubsauger ist gerade bei der Kinderbetreuung in Gebrauch und so verschiebe ich auf morgen. Auch, weil die Lehrerin, die nach uns den Raum benutzt, schon da ist und ich ihr nicht ihre Zeit stehlen will.

Von nebenan brummt der Staubsauger. „Ach, da saugt ja tatsächlich mal jemand!“ Die andere Lehrerin schaut etwas pikiert. Ich verstehe das sofort als Kritik an mir und entschuldige mich. „Nein, das waren ja nicht Sie“, beruhigt sie mich. „Und ich ja auch nicht. Dann mach ich da auch nicht sauber.“

Ehh, ja. Und genau mit dieser Einstellung versifft die Unterkunft. Die Zimmer, die ich bisher besuchen durfte, sind sauber, manchmal, aufgrund der Enge, etwas unübersichtlich unaufgeräumt, aber sauber. Auch die Küchen sind sauber, da macht jeder wohl seinen Dreck nach dem Kochen weg. Aber die Gemeinschaftsflächen, also z.B. der Empfangsbereich und das Treppenhaus sehen ziemlich katastrophal aus. Die Kinder, die Besucher, die Bewohner – niemand hinterlässt viel Schmutz. Aber es häuft sich. Und niemand fühlt sich dafür verantwortlich.

 

Leave a Reply

