Ungewiss ist alle Wiederkehr – Uncertain returns

Kamal has been missing classes. I asked the others and at first I didn’t believe what they told me. They say Kamal wants to return to Iraq.

Today this was confirmed when he returned his book and his folder. He will be leaving in three weeks’ time. The reason seems to be that his mother is very ill. Somehow I cannot make head or tails of this. Once again there is a lack of language between us because I suspect that this is not the whole story. Neither on the Iraqi nor the German side.

What will be waiting for him when he is back in Iraq? Did he get afraid of Germany? He is definitely the one in class who has the most difficulties with the German language itself as well as the whole surroundings. I always felt as if he was wandering around in a state of bewilderment. At the same time he was always polite, rather cheerful and outgoing. However, I often had the impression that he didn’t quite know what was happening.

In any event, I wish him all the best. But his decision leaves me baffled and confused.

078 bridge

Kamal hat im Unterricht gefehlt. Ich habe die anderen gefragt und konnte zuerst nicht glauben, was sie mir erzählten. Kamal, sagen sie, will zurück in den Irak.

Heute hat sich das bestätigt, er hat mir sein Buch und sein Heft zurückgebracht. In drei Wochen wird er gehen. Der Grund sei, dass seine Mutter sehr krank ist. Irgendwie werde ich daraus im Moment überhaupt schlau. Wieder einmal fehlt es an der Sprache, denn ich nehme an, dass das nicht die ganze Geschichte ist. Weder auf irakischer noch auf deutscher Seite.

Was wird ihn erwarten, wenn er wieder im Irak ist? Ob er Angst vor Deutschland bekommen hat? Er ist eindeutig derjenige in der Klasse, der sich mit der deutschen Sprache und auch mit dem Umfeld am schwersten tut. Er kam mir immer vor, als wandere er in einem Nebel des Unverständnisses. Dabei war er immer höflich, auch eigentlich lustig und aufgeschlossen, aber ich hatte oft den Eindruck, dass er nicht recht weiß, was eigentlich los ist.

Jedenfalls wünsche ich ihm alles Gute. Aber er lässt mich ratlos und verständnislos zurück.

Leave a Reply

