Darf’s ein bisschen mehr sein? – Is it okay if there is more?

This will be my last mention of carnival for this year, promise! After class on Monday I had to do a bit of grocery shopping and had completely forgotten that I was still wearing very colourful clothes and makeup. I was pleased to see that people were smiling at me and thought they just happened to be in a good mood. Until the cashier said: “My, you look pretty! Where did you party?” I answered without a second thought (should I have had one?): “Haven’t yet partied. I’ve been teaching German and I have explained carnival to my students.” One look

and then: “I think that’s great!”

Maybe I am living on an island of bliss but in real life I have so far been sheltered from being accosted directly by right-wing views. People react with approval when I tell them what I do. I have read inexcusable statements on the net and I hear and see awful sentiments and actions on radio and TV but that’s where it stays. Oh, I am not complaining. It can just stay that way.

092 no right turn

 

Für dieses Jahr meine letzte Erwähnung von Fasnacht, Ehrenwort! Nach dem Unterricht am Montag war ich noch einkaufen, und hatte meine bunte Kleidung und Schminke total vergessen. Ich freute mich, dass mich die Leute alle anlächelten und dachte, die wären einfach gut drauf, bis die Kassiererin mich ansprach mit: „Sie sehen aber hübsch aus! Wo haben Sie denn gefeiert?“ Und ohne groß Nachzudenken (warum sollte ich auch?) sagte ich: „Noch nicht gefeiert. Ich hab‘ Deutsch unterrichtet und meiner Klasse Fasnacht erklärt.“ Ein Blick

und dann: „Das finde ich klasse!“

Vielleicht lebe ich ja auf einer Insel der Seligen, aber im realen Leben bin ich bis jetzt vor direkter Konfrontation mit rechtem Gedankengut verschont geblieben. Ich lese unentschuldbare Aussagen im Netz und höre und sehe schreckliche Aussagen im Radio und Fernsehen, aber da bleibt es dann auch. Ich beschwer mich aber nicht. Das braucht sich nicht zu ändern.

 

Leave a Reply

