Tausend Tageslichtsysteme auf dein Häuptl -A thousand daylight systems on your bull

One of these days automated translation programmes will drive me completely batty.  Occasionally, I am surprised by what they can achieve from English to German or vice versa – which doesn’t mean the translations are good or – heaven forbid! – error free, it just means they surprise me.

From Spanish or Italian to German (always automatically via English, of course) the results are often incomprehensible, usually hardly good enough to get the general gist of what is being written.  Finnish is also fun. But from Arabic or Hebrew or Persian to German, that’s beyond a joke, most of the time it’s just gibberish. And this is what I have to use every now and again to communicate with my students!

Here are some facebook comments, accompanying a photo of one of my students and his friends, translated from Arabic to German and Arabic to English (if you speak both languages you’ll have twice the fun):

Aufgeklärt.  allah yhmykn gefressen. / You lightened god all protect you

Meinen besten Freunden nwrtw / Nicest youth nurtu

Schatz mein Herz mich mein Schatz / My darling me dear

Mnwrrrrrrr wo Leute. / Mnwrrrrrrr where guys

Gott hat euch Tage Süßigkeiten, Herr! / God send you days candy oh lord

Sie auch. Und unseren Gott! / God bless you and God bless the leakey

“Lightened” seems to be a compliment meaning “radiant” but in German it is always rendered as “aufgeklärt” (enlightened, as in “age of enlightenment”). The progression is apparently “daylight systems” because I keep encountering this expression.  An association blaster can’t be worse!

PS: What in the world is a leakey and why should it be blessed?

157 wirr

Internet Übersetzungsprogramme treiben mich langsam aber sicher in den Wahnsinn. Bei Englisch nach Deutsch oder umgekehrt überraschen sie mich gelegentlich – was nicht heißt, dass die Übersetzungen gut – oder Gott bewahre! – fehlerfrei sind, sie überraschen mich nur.

Aber bereits bei Spanisch oder Italienisch nach Deutsch (immer automatisch über den Umweg des Englischen) sind die Ergebnisse oft unverständlich, oftmals nicht mal gut genug, um wenigstens zu wissen um was es geht.  Finnisch ist auch lustig.  Aber bei Übersetzungen aus dem Arabischen, Hebräischen oder Persischen hört der Spaß dann wirklich auf, meistens ist es unverständliches Kauderwelsch.  Und darauf muss ich manchmal zurückgreifen, um mit meinen Schülern zu kommunizieren!

Facebook-Kommentare auf ein Bild, aus dem Arabischen auf Deutsch und Englisch übersetzt (wenn ihr beide Sprachen versteht, könnt ihr den doppelten Spaß haben):

Aufgeklärt.  allah yhmykn gefressen. / You lightened god all protect you

Meinen besten Freunden nwrtw / Nicest youth nurtu

Schatz mein Herz mich mein Schatz / My darling me dear

Mnwrrrrrrr wo Leute. / Mnwrrrrrrr where guys

Gott hat euch Tage Süßigkeiten, Herr! / God send you days candy oh lord

Sie auch. Und unseren Gott! / God bless you and God bless the leakey

„lightened“ scheint ein Kompliment im Sinn von „strahlend“ zu sein, dass aber im Deutschen immer mit „aufgeklärt“ wiedergegeben wird. Die Steigerung ist wohl „Tageslichtsysteme“, denn das begegnet mir öfter. Das ist schlimmer als ein Assoziationsblaster!

 

Leave a Reply

