Hermann Claus dir Aufwandes beginnend – Fetish Glasses düg Fort handwritten And anger

For quite some time now we communicate via a WhatsApp group amongst the members of our German class.  Well executed whiteboard pictures (as well as less well executed ones) are photographed and shared, greetings are being sent and on and off we manage small conversations.  Spelling is often extremely creative to say the least and I am unsure if I should leave it alone or repeat it correctly.  On the one hand, I don’t want to discourage anybody, I am happy that they try to write in German.  On the other hand, I would like the others to understand what is being written.

Up to now I have avoided to introduce them to the predictive text recognition on mobile phones.  Too often I have sent messages which looked like this (or similar): “Gönne bei Therese in half an jour. Jeep THW Eber Coldplay!” because I forgot to switch from German to English, and that’s not even taking ordinary typos into account with these kind of communication catastrophes.

But today, Sharif asked me to send a short message to a friend of his on his phone.  When he looked me over the shoulder to watch what I was doing he discovered T9.  And he was at first fascinated and then soon enthusiastic!  He immediately told the others about his discovery.  I am curious about the messages I am about to receive in the next few days and months.

165 flip

Seit einiger Zeit haben wir ja eine WhatsApp-Gruppe unserer Deutschklasse.   Gelungene Whiteboard-Bilder (und weniger gelungene) werden hochgeladen, Grüße ausgetauscht und ab und an eine kleine Unterhaltungen geführt.  Die Rechtschreibung ist oftmals gelinde gesagt sehr kreativ und ich bin unsicher, ob ich das stehenlassen oder nochmal richtig wiederholen soll.  Einerseits will ich niemandem den Schneid abkaufen, ich freue mich ja, dass sie versuchen Deutsch zu schreiben.  Andererseits sollen aber die anderen, die mitlesen, auch verstehen, um was es geht.

Bislang habe ich vermieden, ihnen die Texterkennungsfunktion bei Mobiltelefonen näherzubringen. Zu oft habe ich selbst Nachrichten abgeschickt, die so (oder so ähnlich) lauteten:  „Bin in winter haben Stindw da. Stell das Bier scion mal Karl.“, weil ich vergessen hatte, von Englisch auf Deutsch zu wechseln, und damit habe ich noch nicht mal einfache Vertippsler in die Kommunikationskatastrophe mit eingerechnet.

Aber heute bat mich Sharif, einem deutschen Freund eine kurze Mitteilung auf seinem Handy zu schreiben, und als er mir über die Schulter schaute um zuzusehen, entdeckte er T9.  Er war erst fasziniert und dann begeistert!  Sofort erzählte er den anderen von seiner Entdeckung.  Ich bin mal gespannt, was da in den nächsten Tagen und Wochen an Nachrichten auf mich zukommt.

Leave a Reply

