Ungeplante Lehrstunde – Unplanned lesson

We were in the car on our way to school.  Sema had stayed at home because she was running a fever. Maria had a doctor’s appointment.  So there was Harun and Sharif in the car with me (which is usually a female only vehicle) together with Nesrin and Zamirah.  The car radio was switched on and we listened to the news.

The first item was about the explosions that had occurred in the city of Dresden the night before. Normally my passengers don’t listen to the newsreaders but Hossein caught the word “explosion” and asked me to elaborate.

In the classroom I told them what I knew about the two explosive devices – that luckily they were not very powerful and that nobody was hurt.  The first question they asked me: “Was it daesh?”  No, the police think that they were planted by people who don’t like refugees, who don’t like strangers, who don’t want to have Muslims in Germany.  Saying it I feel ashamed about people with this mind-set. I used the chance to explain about the upcoming “Day of German Unity” on 3 October, that it is a public holiday and that the official celebrations would be in Dresden this year.

Then I switched to my planned lesson, about traffic rules and traffic signs.

After class Zamirah and Harun asked me to join them for tea in their room.  Harun immediately returned to the topic of the explosions and asked for details.  It was only then I noticed that Zamirah was very upset.  No, she said, no bombs, not in Germany as well.  She asked me several times:  “Where is Dresden? How far away is it?  How many are dead?”  I tried to calm her by reassuring her that nobody had died, nobody had to go to hospital, nobody had been hurt. The news that Germany is not 100% safe either has really affected her.  Which is no surprise, really.

191-kaputt

Wir fuhren im Auto zur Schule.  Sema blieb wegen Fieber zuhause.  Maria hatte einen Termin beim Arzt.  Aus diesem Grund waren Harun und Sharif zusammen mit Nesrin und Zamirah bei mir im Auto (normalerweise sind wir ja nur Frauen im Auto). Da Autoradio lief und wir hörten Nachrichten.

Die erste Meldung war über die beiden Explosionen in der vergangenen Nacht in Dresden.  Normalerweise hören meine Mitfahrer dem Nachrichtensprecher nicht zu, aber Sharif stutzte bei dem Wort „Explosion“ und hakte nach.

Im Klassenzimmer erzählte ich, was ich von den zwei Sprengsätzen wusste – dass sie glücklicherweise nicht sehr groß gewesen waren und dass niemand verletzt worden war.  Die erste Frage, die kam: „War es Daesh?“   Nein, die Polizei denkt, dass es Menschen waren, die keine Flüchtlinge, keine Fremden, keine Moslems in Deutschland haben wollen.  Während ich das sage, schäme ich mich für Menschen mit dieser Gesinnung. Ich nutzte die Gelegenheit, um etwas über den „Tag der deutschen Einheit“ am 3.Oktober zu erzählen, dass es ein Feiertag ist und dass die offizielle Feier dieses Jahr in Dresden stattfinden wird.

Dann ging ich zur geplanten Lektion über Verkehrsregeln und –zeichen über.

Nach der Stunde baten mich Zamirah und Harun auf ein Glas Tee in ihr Zimmer.  Nabi kam sofort auf die Explosionen zu sprechen und wollte mehr Details wissen.  Da erst merke ich, wie mitgenommen Zamirah war.  Nein, sagte sie, keine Bomben, nicht auch in Deutschland. Sie fragte mich ein paar Mal: „Wo ist Dresden?  Wie weit weg ist es? Wieviele sind tot?“  Ich versuchte, sie zu beruhigen, indem ich ihr versicherte, dass niemand gestorben sei, niemand ins Krankenhaus gemusst hätte, niemand verletzt worden sei.  Die Nachricht, dass auch Deutschland nicht 100% sicher ist, hat sie angegriffen.  Was ja eigentlich nicht überraschen sollte.

Leave a Reply

