Zehn kleine Fingerlein – Ten little fingers

Today we talked about what we like to do and what we don’t like to do.  The purpose of the lesson is to practice simple sentences: “Ich tanze gern.” (I like to dance.)  Or slightly more complicated: “Ich mache gern Sport.” (I like to do sports.)

It is not easy to convey grammatical concepts in an alphabetisation course.  There us little pre-existing knowledge of grammar, even basic things like “What is a verb?” or “What is a noun?”.  Hence instead of saying “ich koche gern” (I like to cook) some came up with “ich Suppe gern” (I like soup). This works in English but not so much in German.   So we keep practicing.

The best answer I got all day came from Zubaida, a mother of six: “Ich mache gern Babys!” (not: I like babies, but: I like making babies.)

220

Heute sprachen wir darüber, was wir gern und was wir nicht gern tun.  Der Sinn der Lektion liegt darin, einfache Sätze wie „Ich tanze gern.“ zu üben. Oder ein kleines bisschen komplizierter: „Ich mache gern Sport.“

Es ist nicht leicht, in einem Alphabetisierungskurs grammatikaliche Konzepte zu vermitteln.  Grammatisches Vorwissen, selbst grundlegende Dinge wie  „Was ist ein Verb?“ oder „Was ist ein Hauptwort?“, ist kaum vorhanden. Deshalb sagten manche statt „ich koche gern“ zum Beispiel: „Ich Suppe gern“.  Also haben wir lange geübt.

Die beste Antwort, die ich heute gehört habe, kam von Zubaida, die Mutter von sechs Kindern ist: „Ich mache gern Babys!“

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

